Regarding the Sims 4…

Hey everyone!  The sims 4 is set to release September 2nd, and I have to say I’m kind of dreading it.  To those of whom who might be wondering what is going to happen to this story, I can tell you this.  I’m still continuing it.  I’m not remaking my sims on the sims 4 and continue it from there.  Why not?  Well a couple of reasons, the first being I think the sims on the sims 4 look super cartoony, and there is no CC and probably wont be playing it for some time.  I made the same slow transition from the Sims 2 to the Sims 3.  (I guess deep down I’m afraid of change. LOL)

I’ll probably end up getting the game anyways, and playing it when I’m bored.  Maybe some day I’ll make the switch, but it wont be for awhile…probably a long while, as I still believe that this game (The Sims 3 is still bringing me great joy, so why switch?)

How about you all?  Do you plan on playing the Sims 4?  Are you going to continue to read sims 3 story blogs?  And if you have stories of your own, do you plan on continuing them?

I’d love to hear all your thoughts on this, as I’m dreading September second something awful…

 

31 thoughts on “Regarding the Sims 4…

  1. I am with you. I eagerly anticipated the release of Sims 3 because of the ability to move around town without constant load screens. (I have only discovered Sim Stories this year, so I had to attachment there.)
    As for Sims 4, I haven’t seen one thing it offers that makes me go “Ooooohhh, I really want that.” I may eventually buy it but I am just discovering mods and custom content. I don’t really want to make the switch.
    I am working on a Sim story but since I have a hard time with taking photos (the chapters seem to write themselves) I haven’t made it very far before getting frustrated and just bagging it. We’ll see how I do….
    And, to put your mind at ease, I read the stories for the stories, not because of the photos or version of Sims. So, YES I will continue to read anything you choose to post. You are a wonderful storyteller.

    • I agree. Nothing about the sims 4 that i’ve seen so far has made me go “OOOOOOH” I know eventually i’ll play it, but for now, I still enjoy this game, and I like you. Read for the stories not the pictures.

      Aww thanks! That made me smile, you have no idea…lol

  2. I agree with you because the sims 4 doesn’t have great detail, and many aspects of the game haven’t been developed. Maybe when EA have made several expansions and patches, I might begin writing for the sims 4. Personally, I’m not going to get the sims 4 until the game is more developed because i see much of an improvement on the sims 3 yet. I’m sure that in the future the sims 4 will be much better and create intriguing stories and legacies, but for now I’m sticking to what i know best. 🙂

  3. Yep, I’m sticking with Sims 3 for a while and hopefully I’ll finish my Legacy with it. Mostly because I’m still having fun with it and nothing in Sims 4 looks like it will be that different. Like most people, I’ll wait until Sims 4 has been out for a while and they’ve worked through the inevitable bugs before I even think about buying it. Besides, I don’t think my computer would be able to handle it!

  4. I won’t be getting the Sims 4, at least not yet, partially because I’m a broke university student with a junky computer that can’t run both games, and partially because I’m just not interested. So no worries, I’ll be sticking around for a while to come!
    At least until Sims 4 gets toddlers *grumbling*

  5. I agree with you on that one. Not completely satisfied with the Sims 4 myself. It would be such a stressful transition I would assume. I also did the same when Sims 3 first came out; I waited until a year after to start playing, LOL.

  6. To be honest, I’ve been pretty disappointed with the Sims 4. I was hoping that they’d come out with some great graphics and animation, but it came out super cartoony. If anything, I feel like it was a step backwards from sims 3. I’ll probably wait a while before thinking about purchasing it.

    • I agree. Its cartoony to me too, mainly the hair. The rest of the sims look ok, but i can’t get past the hair. It will be interesting to see what CC people can come up with. Maybe then, at a later date i’ll be able to enjoy it. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  7. I agree with you completely. What I’ve seen of The Sims 4 disappoints me. Not just the graphics, but the fact that there’s no family tree and no SP, not even the rather poor SP EA provided, so there’s nothing for a modder to build on. Tales from Touperdu will soldier on in The Sims 3 to the bitter end, and I’m very glad to learn you’re going to continue using TS3 yourself.

    It looks to me as though EA was planning to release TS4 as online only (shudder!) then saw the flaming train-wreck that was Sim City 5 and decided against it. This meant the designers had to backtrack and scramble to meet the deadline. The result — a cartoony, dumbed-down version missing far too many of the options the earlier game offered. I’d be sympathetic if I weren’t so angry at even the notion of forcing us all to play online.

    In all honesty, however, even if TS4 looked wonderful and offered me the option of using my multi-household approach, I would have waited a couple of years before getting it. Too many bad experiences buying EA games and then having to deal with all the glitches of a new release.

    • Whaaaat? No Story progression, no toddlers, and no family trees? What the hell. OMG i’m so glad they decided not to do it only online. I did have Sim City when it first came out and that was a disastor. I think they learned their lesson!

      • Well, I hope they did. I’m very much afraid though, that they’re just going to try it again later and see if it works.

  8. I’m really glad you’re not switching – I feel exactly the same way and I’m dreading the day when everyone switches and sims 3 is completely forgotten about i was the same as you too, I didn’t change to sims 3 (from sims 2) for well over a year and I definitely don’t feel like I’m ready to move on from TS3 yet.

    I think I might get it eventually – I won’t buy it to be honest, because I’m so against EA and their policies and the way they ignore the needs of their customers, but when it’s available for torrent I will download it and i will play it in my spare time. I like the look of it. i think it’s cute but I’m not willing to get into storytelling with it until a wide range of CC is available!

    We can all stick to TS3 together! hahaha

    • Im so glad we all can stick with TS3 together. I’ll still be reading ya’ll stories. Because I too am not ready to move on from sims 3. I still love this game. I’ll get it eventually, but not until there are plenty of expansions, CC, and a bug free game. For now, i’m happy with what we have. 🙂

  9. Omg… I am the exact same as you. I feel that a lot of people are going to drop their amazing stories and just straight on go to The Sims 4. I honestly feel that it’s a bit too cartoonish for my taste. I probably won’t be switching over until there is a bunch of CC that makes the hair look a bit less… Chunky? I’d also prefer better skins, so I’m not gonna be switching for a while. Haha. Plus, I have a legacy to finish, and I am actually preparing for the launch of my new story. I was actually introduced to The Sims 3 two years ago, and I was absolutely addicted. The Sims 4 looks pretty nice, but I don’t want to switch over too fast. Therefore, I’ll probably be finishing up my legacy (still on generation 1) and the launch of my new story first.

    • Ikr? The hair is chunky looking, like plastic on the head. I’m disapointed and expected better. Everything else looks good, but the base game is so bare bones that I wont be able to really enjoy it. I expect at least a year or two before i’m able to make that switch to the sims 4

  10. I’m not going to buy Sims 4 because I am not an early adopter. I don’t hate it, and I believe that new games come out because companies make money off them, so why wouldn’t they make new games? LOL.
    I only bought the Sims 3 a little over a year ago and I love it. 😀 Sims 3 had been out for years before I even looked at it. My sister had shown me (since she loves Sims) but I had never even decided to buy it for myself until one day when I got tired of Facebook games. I decided I needed a real computer game and Sims 3 was it. LOL. I won’t stop reading nor writing Sims 3 stories because it doesn’t make any sense to. If I like the story, then I like the story, it doesn’t matter which Sims is being used for the pictures. I also won’t be converting any Sims to Sims 4. I did download the Sims 4 CAS demo because why not? It was free and since I wasn’t going to buy the new game at the current time, it made sense for me to play with the demo.
    To conclude, haha, I will still read stories I like, and I will also be continuing all of my Sims 3 stories, long after Sims 4 comes out. 🙂

    • I don’t hate it either. I’m sure its a good game that i’d probably enjoy, and i’ll get it at some point later down the line when I feel that i’m truly done with the sims 3 besides the fact i’m waiting for more expansions and CC content. I’ll still play with CAS and may get it to play around with when I’m bored. As for stories, I like you will still read the stories that I enjoy, and I definitly plan on continuing mine as well. 🙂

  11. For now, I’m sticking to sims 3! Nothing about the sims 4 has gotten me overly excited. I’d rather wait and see how the game actually is before spending 60$ or so for the game. I will continue my story in the sims 3 for sure! 😀

  12. I’m in no rush to play Sims 4. I’ve only been playing Sims 3 for a couple of years. I have a lot of money invested in it, and there are so many things I haven’t even tried yet. I’ll continue reading all the stories I currently follow. One has nothing to do with the other to me. I’ll also continue publishing my 100 baby challenge using Sims 3 (not that Sims 4 was even an option).

  13. Hi Amandralynn! Yes I agree with you the others I will continue to read these stories as long as you and the write. I love it all stories and the pics. Your some awesome writers. Some stories are so funny but allot of them are so true to life. So keep it up I’ll still be here. I will also in time get the sims4 but when it has been out for awhile and they work slot of the kinks out.

  14. Took me forever to switch from TS2 to TS3 :’) I took so long getting CC on it and making houses and creating entire family trees, only to eventually get a computer that would make Sims 2 really low quality. I was basically forced into The Sims 3, but I have no regrets.
    The sims on 4 are actually really cartoony, I don’t see them as characters in a story any time soon.
    I am going to re-read your story, I have been gone so long I can’t remember where I was up to!

  15. I have the sims 4 preordered and am going to download it the day it’s available. But that’s more because I am a sucker for anything new. And I love the idea of emotion-based gameplay. I am still going to play and read sims3. I am actually working on a legacy myself that just started and I am not going to give that up (or make it a sims4 legacy).

  16. I am completely 100% in the same boat. I also dreaded the release of TS4, and now that it’s out I still haven’t purchased it yet. Like you, I made the transition slowly from TS2 to TS3, and I pretty much have no doubt that I’ll be doing the same with TS3 to TS4. TS4 is just so stripped down compared to TS3, and though it’s for obvious reasons, I still won’t be making the switch right away.

    I still plan to continue my TS3 blog (hopefully right to the damn end, lol), and will happily continue reading TS3 blogs 😀 Besides, it’s not so much the platform the stories take place within, but the stories themselves, and I’ll always find time to read the ones that stick out to me, like this one!

    I might end up buying TS4 just to play casually or when I’m bored, like you said, but I really want to continue with my blog, so continue I will!!!!

  17. I will probably get it in like 2 years. I’m big on family life and that’s just not the focus right now for Sims 4, so I shall pass until it is. I really need toddlers…I just, I don’t see it happening without them.

Leave a Reply

Different Winters

A Differences in the Family Tree Challenge Story

Thornheartssims

Where beauty is born

The Drake Family Secrets

A Sims 3 Legacy story....

The Complexity Of Us

Love is a curious thing.

The Hartfields

A Sims 3 Legacy Story

The Simm Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Story

A Legacy of Misfits

"Welcome to the island of misfit toys"

The Hostage

My Sims 3 Story Blog

Bane of My Existence

Some Questions are Better Left Unanswered...

Breaking The Rules

A Sims 3 Story...

Neverland

The Darling Family Legacy

The Complexity of Us

Love is a curious thing.

Catch & Release

The Harridan Curse

The Flame Family Legacy

A Sims 3 Historical Legacy

Reagan Leeds: Run The World

A Sims 3 Story Of A True Diva

The Life & Times of the Willows

"She was a product of evil, but found a lifetime of love."

Future of the Fae

A Sims 3 Supernatural Legacy

The Harley Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Story...

Our Lives are Better Left to Chance

Dont let me be lonely tonight...

The Cortez Legacy

Love Transcends All

Dustland Fairytale

Out where the dreams are high, out where the wind don't blow, out here the good girls die and the sky won't snow

Iomai's Sims 3 Stories

A Blog For My TS3 Non Legacy Matter

The Withersby Legacy

From the 100 Girls Legacy Challenge

The Torres Legacy

Secrets have a way of getting out

todayintheworldofsimsstories

Just another WordPress.com site

The Ballentine Legacy

Woah... it's a Sims 3 Legacy!

Moonlight and Sims

Where Sims 3 meets historical fiction

The Collier Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

The Darroch Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy blog

The Solis Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

My Darling

Sims 3 bring me to life challenge (may not be suitable for younger readers.)

The Legacy of the Xavier's

A Story Of A Man, A Dog, and Their Legacy

The King Family Legacy

A sims 3 Family Legacy Story

The State Legacy

A Sims 3 Blog

Random Branches

a Differences in the Family Tree Challenge

Late Knight Simmer

I write Sims 3 stories in my spare time.

SimsFiction

Stories I wrote based on the game TS3

Champs les Sims

I still can't think of a better name...

The Black Occultist

A SimComix Story

Sim Stories

Stories from the Sims 3

The Taylor Legacy

A Sims 3 & 4 Legacy Story

