1.7 The knock on the door

This chapter is Rated PG 13  Strong language.

Author’s note: Sorry this chapter took awhile to come out.  Had some computer issues, that for once, had nothing to do with the game. Go figure.  Thanks for sticking with this story, it means a lot.  Already working on the next two chapters, so I wont make you wait as long to find out what happens next. Tee-hee 🙂

Screenshot

I felt like I was watching the UFC fights on television.  Janice and Zoe circled each other like a couple of pro MMA fighters in a cage match.  Janice had a couple of pounds on Zoe, but I’ve seen Zoe fight before.  She played dirty, and was small in stature, and could hop on your back like a demented spider monkey.

“Get the hell out of this store or I’ll call the cops.” Janice narrowed her eyes, her fists were balled so tightly her knuckles were white, like skin stretched tight over bone.

Zoe laughed.  “Call the cops?” She rolled her eyes.  “Knock yourself out old lady.  I haven’t done anything wrong.  I’m a customer.”

“Then buy something and get the hell out.” Janice scowled.  “Or I’ll throw you out myself.”

Screenshot-2Screenshot-3

“I’d like to see you try.” Zoe laughed, merriment dancing in her grey eyes.  She was enjoying this.  “You might break a hip, you old bat.”  She yawned and examined her nails with boredom.  “Well I wouldn’t buy anything from this little dump of a bookstore anyway, besides I have somewhere to be.”  She shot me a smug look, the meaning clear.  She came here to gloat, to rub it in my face that Riley believed her over me.

“I doubt you even know how to read you stupid little twat.”  Janice laughed leaning toward Zoe.  For a moment I was scared for the older woman.  Zoe’s face went white, like all the blood had drained from her face, leaving her looking more angry than I had ever seen her.

“I’ll see you around, Madeline.”  Zoe said finally, spitting out my name like it was poison.

Screenshot-6Screenshot-7

My shoulders tensed while Zoe gave Janice and I one last dirty look that could have turned a person to stone, then turned and strode out of the bookstore with her hips swinging.  Janice flipped over the Closed sign, and locked the door behind Zoe.  Janice hurried over to me her eyes wide with excitement.

“Wow you weren’t kidding!  That Zoe really is a bitch isn’t she?” Janice’s eyes were wide with excitement.  I felt a stab of guilt for drawing Janice into my crazy drama filled world.

Screenshot-4Screenshot-5

Tension drained from my body leaving me feeling limp like a spaghetti noodle.  I sagged into the nearest chair and lay my head down on my arms closing my eyes.  I couldn’t believe that this was my life.  I have had more drama in my short time in North Port then I had my entire life, and I was beyond tired of it.  Some people got off on drama and fed off the excitement.  I was not one of those people…

“I’m sorry for bringing you into this.” I mumbled into the wood of the table, my forehead pressed against the wood.  exhaustion settled on my back like a heavy coat.

“Don’t be sorry.  I’m a married broad with kids and a husband.” She laughed, the sound rich and warm making me feel slightly better.  “I never get drama like this!  This was better than going out to the movies.  Next time, I’ll be sure to make some popcorn!”  Janice exclaimed happily.  I looked up from the table and saw the look of excitement on her face.

“Ha. Ha.” I said dryly.  “I just hope there isn’t a next time. I’ve had more drama then I can handle.” I sighed into the crook of my arm feeling my eyes moisten with unshed tears.

Screenshot-9Screenshot-8

“You ok?” Janice asked, her eyes looked concerned behind her glasses.

“Not really.” I sighed, still feeling rattled as I stood up and leaned against the counter.  “Zoe is determined to make my life a living hell.  I wish I would have never came to North Port.  I’ve had nothing but bad luck, and have only made one horrible decision after another.”

“I’ve known girls like Zoe before.” Janice said leaning against the table.  “They thrive off the misery of others, so they can make themselves feel better.  If you stand up to her, she’ll fold like a card table.”

“I don’t know if I can.” I said honestly.  I’ve seen Zoe in action, she was a force to be reckoned with, and I had never been a fighter.

“Girl, you need to get yourself a backbone and stick up for yourself.  You can’t let a little piece of trash like Zoe beat you down like that.  You are a million times better than she is, and she knows it too.  That’s why she acts the way she does.  You threaten her, and she doesn’t like it.”

I held out my arms wide.  “What does Zoe have to feel threatened about.” I laughed bitterly.  “My life is a pile of shit.  I have a crappy minimum wage job–no offence. ” I smiled in apology at Janice. “I found out my entire life has been a lie, that my mom is a whore, and most likely is still hooking.  What part of that is threatening?”

Screenshot-10Screenshot-11

“Well for one, you’re a lot smarter than she is, and could do so much more with your life then working here.  Second, your gorgeous.  If you weren’t so nice, I’d probably hate you.” Janice scowled at me, and laughed to show she was joking.  “You’re the kind of girl who any guy could fall head over heals for, and Zoe isn’t.  She is the type of girl who feels so terrible about herself deep down that she has to belittle others to make herself feel better.  I could tell in an instant by looking at her that she’s the type of girl who will do anything to please a man, and give herself up to any man because she thinks that’s what will make them want her.  It’s sad really… ”

“I just don’t know.” I sagged my shoulders my eyes staring down at the floor.  I was exhausted, I wish I could just crawl into bed and pretend this day, and last night never happened.  Janice’s words made sense, and I wanted to feel bad for Zoe, but it was hard to feel sorry for someone who went out of their way to make your life a living hell!

Janice seemed to read my mind.  “Why don’t you go home.  I can manage things here on my own.  If the boss comes in, which is doubtful, I’ll tell her you had explosive diarrhea, and had to go home, nobody ever seconds that lie!” She laughed.  “Go.  It will be fine here.  I’ve worked here so many years I could run this place in my sleep.”

I smiled at her gratefully, truthfully going home sounded amazing.  I couldn’t wait to slip into a nice warm bath and soak away all my troubles.

“Thanks Janice.” I smiled tiredly, rubbing my eyes and yawning so loudly my jaw cracked sounding like a gunshot that echoed across the empty bookstore.

“No need to thank me.  Just go would ya?” Janice laughed giving me a gentle shove towards the door.

Screenshot-12

I shivered as I headed outside into the rain.  It may have been the beginning of summer, but it felt like the beginning of fall.  I couldn’t wait to crawl under my blankets and relax, and maybe crawl into a nice hot bath if I was feeling ambitious.

ScreenshotCallme

Everything was exactly how I left it this morning.  Mika didn’t rob me blind like I assumed he would.  My cheeks flooded with color and shame.  Janice was right, I shouldn’t have been so quick to dismiss Mika as just some guy from the bar I picked up after having a rough day.  A flash of yellow on the ugly green fridge that clinked and made noise, and could hardly keep my milk cold, caught my eye.

A post it note from Mika.  I ripped it off the fridge and looked down at his number.  Would I ever be able to call him?  What would I even say to him?  Thanks for the one night stand, I hoped we used protection?

Screenshot-2

I sighed in defeat and sank into the couch, finding it hard to get comfortable with the springs poking me in the ass.  I shifted around until I was comfortable and closed my eyes lost in thought.

I thought of Mika, and how good he felt.  I remembered the way his lips felt against mine.  Maybe I should call him? What would be the harm?

Screenshot-4Screenshot-3

A quite knock on the door startled me awake.  I guess I had dozed off.  It was pitch dark outside, and the clock on the wall told me it was 9 pm.  I had slept later then I thought.

I stared at the door like it would grow teeth and bite me.  If it was Zoe coming to rub my face in the fact that Riley believed her over me then why bother opening the door.  I had enough drama for one day to last a life time.

“Grow a spine and stand up for yourself,” Janice’s words ran through my mind.  She was right.  I was tired of Zoe treating me like shit.  It was time to give her a dose of her own medicine.  I was done with letting her push me around.

I walked toward the door.

Screenshot-6

I flung open the door and let out a string of curses that would cause my grandmother to light a candle for me in church and ask for the perish to keep me in their prayers.

“Zoe, you pathetic little shit.  I’m so tired of your bullshit.  Get the fuck out of my apartment building before I put my foot in your ass!” I swore, the blood draining from my face when I saw Mika standing their looking shocked, and maybe a little frightened.

“Mika?” I squeaked.

Screenshot-5

“This isn’t awkward at all…”Mika laughed rubbing the back of his neck and looking down at me with a sheepish grin.  “Is this a bad time?”

“I’m so sorry. I uh, thought it was someone else.” I squeaked, feeling pathetic, and very aware of the fact I was dressed in sweat shorts with a hole in the ass, and an old nightshirt I’d had since I was a teenager, not to mention the ugly pigtails that made me look like I was five.

“Clearly.” Mike laughed, his dark eyes lighting up his handsome face.  I smiled.  He had that effect on me.

“Can I come in?” Mika asked giving me another one of his sexy little grins that sent shivers down my spine.

“Oh god, where are my manners, of course, come on in.” I moved aside to let him through the door, I breathed in his familiar spicy scent, and blushed remembering the way his naked body felt against mine.  Yes, my grandmother was definitely going to have to light an extra candle for me tonight…

Screenshot-7Screenshot-8

“I’m sorry for coming over unannounced like this.” Mika apologized.  “I just wanted to give you these, and tell you I had a wonderful time last night.”  He reached behind his back and pulled out a small bouquet of white roses.

I melted like an ice cube in the desert.

Screenshot-9Screenshot-10

I took the flowers from him, my hand grazing his and sending ripples of pleasure up my arm like I had stuck my finger in a light socket.  I inhaled the sweet smell of the roses.  How thoughtful, I thought setting them down on the table.

I looked back up at him, not knowing what to say.  “Thank you.” I finally murmured, my face turning beet red with embarrassment.

“Don’t mention it.” Mika smiled down at me, the light from the lamp making his dark eyes sparkle.  His long dark lashes casted a shadow on his cheeks.  I stared at his full lips, and bit my own remembering the way his lips felt crushed against mine.

Screenshot-11

I gestured to the couch to be polite.  I sat as far away from him as I possibly could, not trusting myself around him.  He made my hormones flare up like a teenager, and in his presence I felt like I was one second away from flinging myself on him.

“So about last night.” Mika began.

Screenshot-12Screenshot-13Screenshot-14

I blushed.  I guess this was the morning after talk I had been dreading.  I was starting to wish that maybe it would have been Zoe at the door after all.  A dozen thoughts ran through my mind at once, causing me to panic.  I was sure he could hear my heart racing in my chest.  Was I terrible?  Could he tell it was my first time?  God I was awful wasn’t I? 

“Last night was amazing.” He finally said with a gentle smile.

“Amazing?” I squeaked, my voice sounding like the noise a new tennis shoe makes when it rubs against a gym floor.  I quickly recovered.  “Thanks.” I said lamely, not knowing what to say.  It wasn’t like I had much practice in the morning after talk.

“I wanted to apologize.” Mika began.

“Apologize?” I repeated. I sounded like a parrot.  Great, he probably thinks you have the brain capacity of a turnip.

“I’ve never been the one night stand type of guy, nor am I really the type of guy that hangs out in bars, even though I do work in one.” He laughed.  “I didn’t want you to think that I was that guy.  The type of guy that would pick up some girl at the bar and sleep with her.” He blushed.  “Even though that’s what happened.”

I bit my lip not knowing how to respond.

“I had a terrible day yesterday and had way to much to drink, and I just didn’t want you thinking that last night ment nothing to me.  It did.”

“Last night was out of character for me too.” I whispered.  “I had a really shitty day yesterday, I guess we have that in common.” I tried to laugh but felt my chin tremble and my eyes glimmer and burn with tears that I didn’t allow to fall.

Screenshot-15Screenshot-16Screenshot-17

Mika scooted closer to me on the couch.  I closed my eyes and inhaled his intoxicating scent.  I felt his arm go around my shoulders and I leaned into his embrace grateful for the warmth and support he was offering me.

I felt him kiss the top of my head gently.  “Is this ok?” He murmured into my hair.  “I don’t want you to think this is all I want from you.  You just looked like you could use a shoulder to lean on.”

“It’s ok.” I whispered turning my head to face him looking into his eyes, amazed by the look of depth in his eyes.

Screenshot-18

I leaned forward, my nose rubbing against his, not at all surprised when I found my lips crushing against his, soft and gentle.  I parted my lips, and felt his tongue sweep against mine.  He tasted amazing, like wintergreen gum.

His arms went around my neck, deepening the kiss.  I found my hands in his hair, the strands thick and soft.

A knock on the door sounded.  “It’s open.” I yelled out, taking my lips off Mika’s for one second, before meeting them again.

Screenshot-19Screenshot-20

Someone cleared their throat.  Riley.  What was he doing here?

I scooted away from Mika as quickly as I could, wiping my mouth off with the back of my hand.  “Riley! What are you doing here?” I asked my eyes wide, my cheeks red with embarrassment.

Screenshot-21

“Is this a bad time?” He asked, crossing his arms across his chest.  He looked directly at Mika, then back at me, his golden brown eyes looked slightly hurt, or maybe that was wishful thinking on my part.

“I’ll go.” Mika stood giving me a small smile.  He bended down and kissed the top of my head, and said nothing else.  I felt bad watching him go, wondering what the hell he must be thinking.

Riley didn’t move from the doorway to allow Mika to pass without bumping shoulders.  Mika turned as he passed through the door and turned back to look at me, with his eyebrow raised.  “Madeline, if you need anything, give me a call.”  With that he was gone leaving me alone with Riley.

I stood, feeling nervous.  I touched my lips feeling a little sleazy for having made out with another man in front of another.  That was something Zoe would do.  Not me.  My cheeks flooded with color.  “What do you want Riley?  Why are you here?” I said a little bitterly, still feeling hurt for him choosing Zoe over me.

“I wanted to say I was sorry.”

———————————————

52 thoughts on “1.7 The knock on the door

  1. Wow, great chapter! All this drama is making my head spin. I’ll be honest, I’m kind of hoping for a love triangle… I know, cliché but I can’t help it! I love drama, and seriously you can never have too much (when it comes to stories that is). Anyways, loved this chapter, and I can’t wait for more (:

    • Love triangles are fun! And so is drama, although I don’t care for it much in my real life. Then it sucks and I hate it. But in stories, I love it. Glad you enjoyed the chapter!!!! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. And so the cliffhanger strikes again, ending things when one don’t want it to end. Fuuuuuuu……. X3 But I must say that Mika melted my heart when saying that he wasn’t that type of guy. ❤ I love him already and my mind pray like crazy that he stays!!! :3 But took long time enough for Riley to come and say sorry. Oh my mind have so many scenarios of how the story continues from this point. I really, really want to read more. Right now. Please? *Puppy eyes* 🙂

    • LOL yeah, I like to drop an occasional cliffhanger. I know. I know. LOL. I’m glad you like Mika, I like him too. Quite the predicament Madeline is in huh, now that Riley is back in the picture. Glad you liked the chapter! I’m working on the next chapter right now. 🙂

  3. Ooh I was hoping Riley would come back! 😀

    But, hopefully with truthful intention this time…since he received lies last time. Also, wasn’t expecting Mika to come back…you have a way with elemental surprise. Not quite sure how I feel about him either.

    Hmm so many questions still unanswered. I like it.

    • I’m glad that there is a lot of questions unanswered and that you like it so far. *Smiles* And yup, Riley is back and he has seen the errors of his ways, we’ll have to find out what that means as far as Mika goes. Thanks for reading!!!

    • LOL. I agree, however Madeline is still stuck on what a great guy Riley is. He’s everything that Madeline wants in a guy, where Mika is a little bit of a mystery. We’ll have to see how it all pans out 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

    • I’m glad you like Janice. I like her too, she is a spitfire, but its good that she has Madeline’s back, even if she does have a nose for the gossip and drama to liven up her otherwise boring life. LOL. Thanks for the comment!

  4. Noooooooooooooo 😦 Riley has already messed things up. I want Mika to stay. *MAYBE* She will be pregnant with Mika’s baby and tell Riley to hit the road? No? That is just my wishful thinking.

    Great chapter though! You are so great at conveying the emotions of the characters through your writing!

  5. Great chapter! I really do like Janice! 😀 Why did Riley have to come back? I was perfectly fine with seeing Maddy with Mika. But now? Maybe a potential love triangle? That would be great and dramatic!

    Can’t wait to see what happens next! 😀

  6. Ahh no Riley you had your chance and you blew it! Mika seems so sweet, I really like him. If she can’t remember is they used protection, then they probably didnt… uh oh. Loved the chapter 🙂

  7. Hmm, Janice seems to enjoy drama way more than Madeline does, but I can see her point, since she’s married with kids, she probably doesn’t see much other than kid related drama, LOL. Zoe’s just… psycho, as usual. Ooh! Do I see a love triangle starting here? 😀 I like Mika more… it’s his hair and tattoo. 😀 Hahaha. His explanation was so nice, and that’s hot that he works at a bar. *dies* I feel like Madeline might like Riley more, the way you wrote it, because the fact that she was sooo hurt by Riley makes me feel like she liked him more deeply.She seems to be physically attracted to Mika more, but she’s like trying to make herself like him or something. 😀

    • Yes, Janice does indeed enjoy the drama, but she does stick up for her friends, but I wouldn’t want to be on Janice’s bad side either, since she does tend to be a little bit on the gossipy side. And you are right, Madeline does like Riley more, but for the wrong reasons. Mika is a little bit of a wild card, and Madeline sees that as not a match for her, Riley is the type of guy you would bring home to your parents, and marry. That’s what she thinks she needs. Does that make sense? Thanks so much for reading!!

  8. Wow what an update. I kind of hope that she forgets about Riley and goes with Mika. Mika seems amazing and kind. Riley doesn’t deserve her and I hope she gives Zoe what she has coming to her. Riley should be ashamed of himself coming to apologize after believing Zoe like he did. Don’t disappoint me and let Mika be her choice.

  9. I was a little surprised that Mika left when Riley came in. Sure, Madeline made it obvious that she and Riley knew each other, but possession is 9/10ths of the law, right? Mika had possession of Madeline’s lips (and the rest of her the night before). 😉 I wonder if he sensed that her “bad day” had something to do with Riley. Still, I vote M&M, at least for now.

  10. AWE!!! MIKA IS A GOOD GUY!!! YAY FOR MY FAITH IN HUMANITY BEING RESTORED!!

    and wth does Riley want? I mean, as awesome a guy as he is, and as sweet an caring as he seems, having inadvertently shouldered the Zoe baggage, it would just be better if he moved on.

  11. Riley why? WHY? Now I have to choose a side. I realize I comment backwards, sorry lol. I was just about to say forgot about me saying I didn’t trust Mika. He might be a good guy after all and I won’t judge him until he screws up. Ugh Riley idc if he does say sorry. He picked Zoe and that’s unforgivable. I really hope Maddy sends him packing. Speaking of that little bitch, Zoe has some nerve. I wanted Janice to kick her ass so bad but she doesn’t need to fight Maddy’s battles. Maddy has to get a backbone and take Zoe down for good just like Janice told her. It was hilarious to see she took her advice, I just wish she said those things to Zoe and not Mika lol. I feel a bad love triangle or something headed Maddy’s way after this update but I can’t wait to see how it unfolds.

    • LOL! That’s ok! I wouldn’t be in such a rush to forgive Riley either. The fact that he listened to Zoe’s skank ass and believed her over Madeline would be enough for me to never want to talk to him again, but Madeline is a dumbass sometimes, so we’ll see! Thanks for commenting Tiff!

  12. Looks like Riley may be coming to his senses. Mika seemed decent enough. That is a tough way to start a relationship. I wonder if Riley knows Zoe lied to him. I am glad Janice put her in her place. Great update!

  13. She seems to have really lucked out with Mika. Hey, I wouldn’t knock meeting guys in bars. That’s how I met my husband. Didn’t bring him home that first night, but if I had it to do over again…

  14. Drama drama drama! Stick with Mika, he’s a babe and he’s sweet, he dam back to make good even though he had no idea whether Madeline would laugh him out the apartment or not. Too sweet. And hot. Very very hot.

  15. I remember the first time I read this that Riley seemed not entirely phased when he walked in on Madeline making out with some other guy. *snicker*

    And Janice shoulda punched Zoe out, and it would have been vastly entertaining. lolz

  16. Too bad Madeline doesn’t like drama because she sure is getting plenty of it!

    Janice seems to be nice and I’m glad she has her back; although I would be cautious about what I tell her. Gossip mongers aren’t the trustworthy kind especially if they’re mad at you.

    Mika is so sweet! I’m rooting for him. He could have left it as a one night stand but he didn’t. He came back. I hope Maddie gives him a chance.

    Riley coming over to apologize is like hmmm what is he up to? I half expected him to believe she was with a client, since he believed everything that Zoe handed him.

  17. Madeline definitly has a knack for getting into trouble and drama filled situations. Janice is a nice lady and is genuine, even though you are right. You always have to watch your back with someone who is gossipy. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

Different Winters

A Differences in the Family Tree Challenge Story

Thornheartssims

Where beauty is born

The Drake Family Secrets

A Sims 3 Legacy story....

The Complexity Of Us

Love is a curious thing.

The Hartfields

A Sims 3 Legacy Story

The Simm Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Story

A Legacy of Misfits

"Welcome to the island of misfit toys"

The Hostage

My Sims 3 Story Blog

Bane of My Existence

Some Questions are Better Left Unanswered...

Breaking The Rules

A Sims 3 Story...

Neverland

The Darling Family Legacy

The Complexity of Us

Love is a curious thing.

Catch & Release

The Harridan Curse

The Flame Family Legacy

A Sims 3 Historical Legacy

Reagan Leeds: Run The World

A Sims 3 Story Of A True Diva

The Life & Times of the Willows

"She was a product of evil, but found a lifetime of love."

Future of the Fae

A Sims 3 Supernatural Legacy

The Harley Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Story...

Our Lives are Better Left to Chance

Dont let me be lonely tonight...

The Cortez Legacy

Love Transcends All

Dustland Fairytale

Out where the dreams are high, out where the wind don't blow, out here the good girls die and the sky won't snow

Iomai's Sims 3 Stories

A Blog For My TS3 Non Legacy Matter

The Withersby Legacy

From the 100 Girls Legacy Challenge

The Torres Legacy

Secrets have a way of getting out

todayintheworldofsimsstories

Just another WordPress.com site

The Ballentine Legacy

Woah... it's a Sims 3 Legacy!

Moonlight and Sims

Where Sims 3 meets historical fiction

The Collier Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

The Darroch Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy blog

The Solis Legacy

A Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

My Darling

Sims 3 bring me to life challenge (may not be suitable for younger readers.)

The Legacy of the Xavier's

A Story Of A Man, A Dog, and Their Legacy

The King Family Legacy

A sims 3 Family Legacy Story

The State Legacy

A Sims 3 Blog

Random Branches

a Differences in the Family Tree Challenge

Late Knight Simmer

I write Sims 3 stories in my spare time.

SimsFiction

Stories I wrote based on the game TS3

Champs les Sims

I still can't think of a better name...

The Black Occultist

A SimComix Story

Sim Stories

Stories from the Sims 3

The Taylor Legacy

A Sims 3 & 4 Legacy Story

